Australia's domestic cricket, live on Star cricket
Australia-Domestic-Cricket.jpg Great business plan says "cut margin off your rivals when their time is on. and make sure you sweep everything when your moment comes".

Espn has been into Cricket telecast for over 10 years, and you bet they know all the tricks and plans of broadcasting cricket matches in India. demand was always high, but several channels failed to show quality cricket in huge quantity to the fans, and made little money..

Star cricket - the 24hr/day cricket channel of ESPN-Star sports combination now brings domestic cricket of Australia - live in India. Indian team tours Australia from 26th of December (schedule) & in between - Star cricket will broadcast Ford Rangers One day Cup (27, 50 over matches), The Pura Cup final (5 day game) & also the 5 top T20 matches played between Australian domestic teams, known as KFC Twenty20 cup.

Australian Domestic teams
Interested in First class cricket in Australia? Sure an genuine cricket fan will be, given the competitive set-up Aussies have formed at national level cricket, and the matches will be played Day-night in Australia... means day time in India. Lets have a look at what those 6 Australia domestic teams are made up of :-

Victoria : also known as Vitorian Bushrangers, Shane Warne was most famous cricket the state team produced. Melbourne cricket ground is their home stadium & among current cricketers - Brad Hodge and Cameroon While have played cricket for Australian International team. Other current players of Victoria state team includes - Jason Arnberger, Rob Cassell, Shane Harwodd, David Hussey, Michael Klinger, Brad Knowles, Michael Lewis, Lloyd Mash, Andrew McDonald, Greg Shipperd (Coach).

Tasmania : is also termed as Tasmanian Tigers. The winners of 2006 Pura Cup. Ricky Ponting captains the state side when he's free of International duties, whereas Ben Hilfenhaus is the newest cricketer to be given an Australian contract (he was highest wicket taker last season). Bellerive Oval in Hobart is the home gound of this Australian first class squad. Other squad of Tasmania includes - Daniel Marsh, George Bailey, Michael Bevan, Travis Bliss, Luke Butterworth, David Dawson, Michael Dighton, Michael DeVinoto, Tim Coyle (Coach).

Western Australia : WACA - Western Australia cricket association is known for the fastest pitch in the world. Thus, the home team, Western Australia or Western Warriors have produced some class strokemakers in Adam Gilchrist and Demien Martyn. Chinaman bowler Brad Hogg and Michael Hussey also play for Western Australia team but in time to come - cricket pundits will be writing/reading about Luke Ronchi (a wicket keeper), Chris Rogers & Adam Voges from this national level Australia cricket team. Other cricketers of WA are - David Bandy, Nathan Coutler Nile, Brett Dorey, Theo doropoulos, Sen Ervin, Shawn Gillies, Justin Langer, Trent Kelly, Shaun Marsh, Tom Moody (coach).

New South Wales : is the most famous team of them all. Waugh brothers played for them and this 'New South Wales Blues' boys have the best record in Australian domestic cricket, like Mumbai Ranji team in India. Among current players - Nathan Brackan, Stuart Clarke, Michael Clarke, Brad Haddin, Brett Lee and Stuart McGill - the leg spinner, play for them. In coming attaction - watch out of Phil Jaques. I've read about this left-handed opening batsman. The other New South Wales Blues team members include - Aaron Bird, Doug Bollinger, Mark Cameron, Beau Casson, Ed Cowan Scott Coyte, Murray Creed, Nathan Hauritz, Moises Hentriques, Simon Katich, Grant Lambert, Tim Lang, Greg Mail, Mathew Nicholson, Aaron O'Brien, James Packman, Grant Roden, Simmons Craig, Smith Daniel, Dominic Thornely, Tim Cooper, Peter Forrest, Trevor Bayliss (coach).

Queensland : Gabba in Brisbane is the home ground and the nick name of this Australian domestic team is Bulls. The Queensland Bulls have produced some of the strongest Australian cricketers like Mathew Hayden, Andrew Symonds, Shane Watson (the all rounder), James Hopes and Mitchell Johnson. Other team members are - Jimmy Maher, Andy Bichel, Ryan Broad, Daniel Doran, Chris Hartley, Shane Jurgensen, Nick Kruger, Brendan Nash, Clinton Perren, Martin Love, Michael Kasproviz, Terry Oliver (Coach).

South Australia : had a passionaite captain in Darren Lehmann until last season. This season, Nathan Adcock has been given the responsibility to lead the lines of Jason Gillespie, Shaun Tait. Australian spin future is with this Adelaide Oval state team, with both Daniel Cullen (the off-spinner) and Cullen Bailey playing. May be should be writing something on these two CULLENs. Other Southern Redbacks squad includes - Graham Manou, Greg Blewett, Ben Cameron, Mark Cosgrove, Mathew Eillot. Coach - Wayne Philips.

2006-07 Australian domestic season summery
Australians play three type of tournaments in their domestic season - Pura Cup (the 5 day games), Ford Ranger Cup (one dayers) and now the KFC Twenty20. Interestingly, from 1892 to 2006 - State Team Tasmania had never won the 5 day match tournament now called as Pura Cup. Ricky Ponting's men did it for the first time in 2007 season. Genrally, New South Wales, Western Australia and Queensland teams have performed better amoung the 6 participating teams.

In Ford Rogers Cup, last year, Queensland won the trophy after New South Wales had a consecutive run of 5 years. Record of Western Australia is good too, but NSW Blues have been the dominant in in this loger version of limited over national level Cricket. So far, in this season, Tasmania has been doing very well and leading the points table.

2007-08 season schedule
Ford Rangers One day Cup 2007.
November :
04 - Tasmania vs New South Wales - starts 5.30 am IST.
07 - south Australia vs New S' Wales - 8.50 am IST.
14 - Western Australia vs Queensland - starts 5.30am IST.
21 - South Australia vs Western Australia - 8.50am IST.
23 - Queensland vs Victoria - starts 8.50am IST.
25 - NEw South Wales vs Tasmania - starts 5.30am IST.
28 - Victoria vs New South Wales - starts 5.30am IST.
December :
01 - Tasmania vs Western Australia - starts 8.50 am IST.
05 - Queensland vs South Australia - starts 8.50 am IST.
09 - New South Wales vs South Australia - 5.30 am IST.
12 - Queensland vs New South Wales - starts 8.50 am IST.
15 - Tasmania vs Victoria - starts 8.50am IST.
19 - Western Australia vs South Australia - 8.50hrs IST.
23 - South Australia vs Queensland - starts 8.50 am IST.
January 2008 :
18 - Victoria vs Tasmania - starts 8.50 am IST.
23 - New South Wales vs Western Australia - 8.50 am IST.
27 - Tasmania vs Queensland - starts 8.50 am IST.
27 - Victoria vs South Australia - 8.50 am IST.
February 2008 :
02 - Western Australia vs Victoria - starts 8.50 am IST.
06 - Victoria vs Queensland - starts 8.50 am IST.
13 - South Australia vs Tasmania - starts 8.50 am IST.
16 - Queensland vs Western Australia - 5.30 am IST.
20 - New South Wales vs Victoria - starts 8.50 am IST.
23 - Ford Rogers One Cup Final. starts at 5.30 am IST.

The Pura Cup Final will be played from 16th to 20th March 2008.

Note : Star cricket will show some important county matches (first class cricket in England) and the Twenty20 cup knock-out stage. but, the day when India vs Australia matches will be played - that day's local Australia matches will not be shown.

FastCricket welcomes your feedback :

*   * *