Pakistan squad for T20 world cup 2010 : Shahid Afridi is the captain.
Pakistan squad for T20 world cup 2010. Pakistan squad for Twenty20 world cup 2010 contains only 7 players who were a part of 2009 tournament which Pak team won. Defending their champions tag will not be easy for green team as several of their players were punished for poor performance in Australia 4 months ago and hence quite a few newer players have been given opportunity in this West Indies world cup.

Pakistan captain for T20 world cup 2010 will be Shahid Afridi although he was found guilty of ball tempering recently and PCB thought long and hard before reappointing him.

Waqar Younis is the coach of Pakistan squad while Ijaz Ahmed, former right handed batsman and under-19 coach, is the new fielding coach of the side.

Best rated T20 bowler Umar Gul was declared unfit after being named in the squad for shoulder injury while allrounder Yasir Arafat was ruled out due to calf injury. Mohammad Sami is replacement for Umar Gul while left arm spinner, Abdur Rehman, is named in place of Arafat even though he wasn't in standby to the main squad. Rehman has played two tests, 11 ODI & 2 T20 matches for Pakistan.

Also see : fixtures - T20 world cup 2010.

Pakistan squad for T20 world cup 2010.
Player Age T20 Mts Playing role
Shahid Afridi 30 27 Right hand bat, leg spinner
Misbah-ul-Haq 36 23 Right handed middle order batsman
Salman Butt 25 16 Left handed opening batsman
Mohammad Hafeez 29 9 Right handed batsman, offspinner
Umar Akmal 20 6 Right handed middle order batsman
Abdul Razzaq 30 11 Right handed bat, medium pacer
Hammad Azam 19 none Right handed batsman, right arm medium
Fawad Alam 24 18 Left hand bat, left arm spin
Mohammad Sami 29 none Right arm fast bowler
Khalid Latif 24 3 Right handed top order batsman
Kamran Akmal 28 28 Right handed batsman, wicketkeeper
Mohammad Asif 27 10 Right arm medium pace bowler
Abdur Rehman 30 2 Left arm orthodox spinner
Saeed Ajmal 32 14 Right arm offspinnner
Waqar Younis is the coach & Ijaz Ahmed fielding consultant

Note : Shahzaib Hasan ~ the right handed batsman, Raza Hasa ~ the 18 year old rookie left arm spinner, Sarfraz Ahmed ~ the wicket keeper and Naved Hasan ~ rookie left handed batting allrounder have been kept as stand by to main 15 member Pakistan T20 world cup squad. Pakistan's preliminary squad of 30 players aldo included Imran Nazir, Imran Farhat, Shoaib Mallik, Hasan Raza, Kamran Younis, Babar Azam, Rana Naved-ul-Hasan, Wahab Riaz and Zulqarnain Haider but they were overlooked.

FastCricket welcomes your feedback :

*   * *