List of most expensive bowling spells in Twenty20 cricket.
James Anderson bowled the most expensive spell in his T20 debut! Bats are getting broader and bigger but never a ball made which swings or spins more. There has been power play (field restrictions) introduced, bouncers disallowed, flat pitches made but never came in a rule to extend boundary lengths which is getting smaller by the day.

Being a bowler in cricket is getting no easier. On bad days, bowlers look like stupid and on even worse days, they enter following list, consisting most expensive spells bowled in Twenty20 International cricket.

Sanath Jayasuriya : is known more for his explosive batting and marathon career (432 ODIs = the most, till date), is also a mean bowler. a left arm spinner not very many can hit, went for 5 sixes and 3 fours off his 24 balls (4 overs) against Pakistan on 17th September 2007 at Johannesburg. Jayasuriya leads the pack in following list cause he didn't even took a wicket that day, unlike our second runner up below who managed one.

James Anderson : England swing bowler who has sent down several unplayable spells in his 5 year old career (specially in test cricket), had a nightmare on 9 January 2007 at Sydney when arch rivals England and Australia went head to head. Australia batted first, set up a target of 222 in which English boys fell short by 77 runs, only! James Anderson gave away 6 sixes and 4 fours, finished at an economy of 16 runs/over and the only wicket he took, was of Mathew Hayden. Interestingly, it was Anderson's debut T20 match!

Following list : of worst bowling in T20 cricket is limited upto bowlers who have conceeded 55 or more runs in one match.

Most Expensive bowling spell by a bowler in Twenty20 Cricket
Bowler (Country) Runs Overs Wkts Versus Venue Date
Sanath Jayasuriya (SL) 64 4.0 0 Pakistan Johannesburg 17 Sep 2007
James Anderson (Eng) 64 4.0 1 Australia Sydney 9 Jan 2007
LN Onyango (Kenya) 61 4.0 0 Sri Lanka Jo'burg 14 Sep 2007
Sajid Mahmood (Eng) 61 4.0 1 South Africa Centurion 15 Nov 2009
Stuart Broad (Eng) 60 4.0 0 India Durban 19 Sep 2007
N Odhiambo (Ken) 57 4.0 1 Sri Lanka Jo'burg 14 Sep 2007
Joginder Sharma (Ind) 57 4.0 0 England Durban 19 Sep 2007
Brett Lee (Aus) 56 4.0 1 West Indies The Oval 6 Jun 2009
Nikita Miller (WI) 56 3.4 2 Australia Sydney 23 Feb 2010
Farhad Reza (Bng) 55 4.0 2 Pakistan Nairobi 2 Sep 2007
Md Ashraful (Bng) 55 4.0 1 West Indies Jo'burg 13 Sep 2007

FastCricket welcomes your feedback :

*   * *