In all the 3 forms of cricket, an extra ball is allowed to be bowled to complete the over when there is a no ball or a wide. Even though it is not counted for the completion of the over, why it is not counted against the batsman for the total no of ball faced, or for the total score of the batting side?
Asked by: Jayashanker on 10-12-2010

Commented by Binit on 11 Dec, 2010

You're right. Whenever a bowler bowls a no ball (foot fault or due to height factor) or a wide or even when more fielders are outside the speculated area, that's an extra to batting team and bowler has to rebowl that. But, there's a catch. The no ball faced by batsman is indeed counted in his number of balls faced but not in the case of wide delivery, which he obviously couldn't reach.

I don't see no problem in current rule. You've explained your question quite well but can you elaborate little more if there's still a confusion?

Commented by Jayashanker on 11 Dec, 2010

I have watched live coverages on TV. Here i will try to give an example to clarify my point. 1)Suppose a batsman has scored 85 runs in 120 balls then it is shown as 85*(120) and the next is a no ball , before the extra delivery is bowled it is still shown as 85*(120) 2)At the end of the over in which the no ball(s) was/were bowled if you totalled the balls faced by the two batsmen it only adds up to the finished over and the additional ball or balls is/are not accounted for 3) in the partnership also the count of the no ball is not added) 4)The same thing is also seen like 50 runs, 100 rus, ... till the final score of the batting side will you please clarify

Commented by Binit on 11 Dec, 2010

Lets say a batsman, on 32 off 30 balls, plays out whole over, including a no ball, making no run, which means he faced 7 balls of that over. at the end of it all, he's faced 7 balls and his chart will/should show 32 off 37 balls, not 32 off 36 while his team will get an extra run for that illegal delivery.

I haven't refered to any ICC rule books as yet but my experience of watching cricket for over a decade has never given me such confusion. I think you should test out your confusion once again when never live coverage comes along and then we both will revert back to this topic with our findings and detect what actually happens.

Commented by Nuruddin on 18 Jan, 2011

the no ball is counted in the number of balls faced by batsman because if he scores any run in that no ball then that run will be added to his individual total run. so it makes sense.

Commented by Blaster bittu on 28 Apr, 2016

Batsman can be run out off a no ball, that's why..

Contribute your answer* :

*   *
*   

Not the answer you were looking for? Refer to records section or ask a cricket question.